Faculty

 

Lindsey Abbasy

labbasy@bishopnoll.org

Mrs. Abbasy received a bachelor of arts degree in psychology from Wheaton College. She received her master of arts in school counseling from Concordia University. Mrs. Abbasy is the resource teacher.  She works with students on their study skills and teaches them strategies for improving their academics.

 

 

Patricia Aguila-Castellano

paguila@bishopnoll.org

Mrs. Aguila-Castellanos is the department head of the world languages department. She teaches speech and Spanish I, III and IV honors and has taught at BNI since 2003. She received her bachelor's degree and master's degree from Purdue University.

Mrs. Aguila has organized our student travel abroad program to places such as Rome, Paris and Spain.

 

Mary Albrecht

malbrecht@bishopnoll.org

Mrs. Albrecht is our STEM teacher. She earned a bachelors degree in humanistic studies and a minor in women’s studies from Saint Mary’s College, Notre Dame, IN. She graduated with highest distinction with a M.Ed. in secondary education from Valparaiso University, and has been teaching since 2004. 

  Joshua Belko

Joshua Belko 

jbelko@bishopnoll.org
Mr. Belko is teaching world history, U.S. history and history of World War II in the social studies department. He also serves as an assistant coach on both the baseball and hockey teams. Mr. Belko has a bachelor's degree in history from the University of Southern Indiana.

 

 

 

Josh Belluomini

jbelluomini@bishopnoll.org

Mr. Belluomini is a member of the mathematics department. He earned his bachelor of arts at Benedictine University in media communication and later earned his teaching certification from Northeastern Illinois University in Chicago. He currently teaches precalculus and algebra II. Mr. Belluomini is also the boys' head varsity basketball coach.

 

Stacia Bolakowski

sbolakowski@bishopnoll.org

Ms. Bolakowski (better known as Miss B) is the Campus Minister and assists Fr. Kevin Scalf with the theology dual credit course. She earned her bachelor of arts degree in English education from Ball State University, a master’s degree in education from Indiana Wesleyan University, and a certificate in Lay Ecclesial Ministry from the Diocese of Gary and Catholic Theological Union. Miss B is in charge of planning and facilitating student and staff ministry experiences. She sponsors the Student Ministry Team. Miss B is happy to assist students and wants them to know her door is always open and she has a Keurig!

 

 

Kevin Burgun

kburgun@bishopnoll.org

Mr. Burgun is a member of the English department. He earned his undergraduate degrees in English and religion at Hope College in Holland, Mich. Mr. Burgun has taught previously at La Lumiere School in Laporte, Ind., and Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School in Indianapolis.

 

Michael Carioto

mcarioto@bishopnoll.org

Mr. Carioto is the art teacher in the Fine Arts Department. He graduated from Monmouth College where he studied Theater and Art. The classes he teaches range from Introduction to 2D Art to Digital Art and Advanced Studio. Mr. Carioto is also the Drama Club director.

 

 

Rocco Carioto

rcarioto@bishopnoll.org

Mr. Carioto is director of the Bishop Noll concert band, jazz band, and Marching Warriors. Mr. Carioto earned his bachelor of arts degree in music from Elmhurst College. Mr. Carioto has been a high school band director since 1988 and adjudicates state solo and solo ensemble for IMEA and IHSA. Mr. Carioto is a concert trombonist and has performed with the Southwest Symphony Orchestra and Chicago Jazz Connection. Mr. Carioto teaches music classes at BNI and is enrolled in a masters degree program in music education.

 

 

 

 

Katie Fredericksen

kfredericksen@bishopnoll.org 

Ms. Fredericksen is teaching Freshman Theology. She earned a bachelor's degree in education from Calumet College of Saint Joseph. She is also the freshman class sponsor.

 

 

Johan Castaneda Hernandez

jcastaneda@bishopnoll.org 

Mr. Castaneda teaches sophomore theology. He grew up in Remedios, Colombia, and completed high school in Yarumal, Colombia. Mr. Castaneda traveled to the United States where he completed his bachelor of arts in philosophy with a minor in religion at Albertus Magnus College in New Haven, Conn., and his Masters of Divinity at Catholic Theological Union in Chicago.

 

Jaime Cavazos

jcavazos@bishopnoll.org 

Mr. Cavazos is a the chair of the Social Studies Department and teaches U.S. history, government and AP government. A 1994 BNI grad, Cavazos received a bachelor of arts degree from Purdue University Calumet and a masters of arts degree from Loyola University of Chicago. Mr. Cavazos is an assistant speech coach and technical coordinator of the theater. 

 

 

 

 

Samantha Chapleau

schapleau@bishopnoll.org 

Ms. Chapleau joins the Bishop Noll English Department teaching college prep junior English, Junior Foundations, senior English and AP literature and composition. She has a bachelor's degree in English education and Spanish from Saint Xavier University and a master's degree in English from Middlebury College (Bread Loaf School of English). An avid writer and traveler, she has studied for two summers at Oxford University in the UK.

   

 

Gregory Cichoracki

gcichoracki@bishopnoll.org

Mr. Cichoracki, a 1977 graduate of Bishop Noll, returns to his alma mater this year as a physics and chem phys teacher. He has bachelor's degree in physics from the University of Chicago and a master's of education in computer science.

 

 

Quinn Cloghessy

qcloghessy@bishopnoll.org 

Mr. Cloghessy is a member of the Social Studies Department, teaching psychology, sociology and world history. A 2010 BNI grad, he received his bachelor of arts degree from St. Ambrose University in Davenport, Iowa. In addition to teaching, Mr. Cloghessy is an assistant for varsity soccer and frosh basketball.

 

Elizabeth Conley

econley@bishopnoll.org

Mrs. Conley is a member of the English department, teaching theater, physical education, health, English and speech.  She earned her bachelors in theater at Marycrest Tiekayo University in Davenport, Iowa, and has a master's degree in education from Calumet College of St. Joseph. Mrs. Conley is a new teacher mentor and head of the Visual and Performing Arts Department.
 

Chris Diehl

cdiehl@bishopnoll.org

Mr. Diehl teaches geometry and pre-calculus and serves as the assistant boys' basketball coach. Mr. Diehl received a degree in education from Calumet College of St. Joseph. 
 

Rebecca Dostatni

rdostatni@bishopnoll.org

Ms. Dostatni, a class of 2000 graduate of Bishop Noll, earned her bachelor of science in biology from Purdue University and a master of science degree in biology from Purdue University Calumet. In addition to biology, Ms. Dostatni teaches dance choreography. She has a minor in dance and is a former member of the Purdue Contemporary Dance Company.

 

 

 

 

 

Jennifer Gwiazda

jgwiazda@bishopnoll.org

Ms. Gwiazda joins Bishop Noll this year as a biology teacher. She received her bachelor's degree in secondary education biology from DePaul University. This is her 11th year teaching.

 

 

David Herr

dherr@bishopnoll.org

Mr. Herr, Bishop Noll's choir director, earned his bachelors degree from Wabash College and his masters degree from Indiana University Northwest. He is currently pursuing his Transition to Teaching certification from the American College of Education.  Mr. Herr is the music director of St. Irenaeus Catholic Church at Park Forest in the Archdiocese of Chicago, and is the executive assistant to the Office of Worship for the Diocese of Gary.
 

 

 

Ana Tobias Hicks

ahicks@bishopnoll.org

Ms. Hicks joins Bishop Noll this year as a Spanish 1 and 2 teacher. She earned a bachelor's degree in English literature, a bachelor's degree of education and is currently working toward her master's degree in English. Her studies have taken her to London and Mexico City.

 

 

Anthony Hoolehan

ahoolehan@bishopnoll.org

Mr. Hoolehan earned his bachelors degree from Purdue University North Central. Mr Hoolehan teaches Health and STEM classes. Mr. Hoolehan is also the head baseball coach.

  Ryan Julian

Ryan Julian

rjulian@bishopnoll.org

Mr. Julian teaches economics and U.S. history. He has a bachelor's degree in history from Loras College and is working toward his master's degree in history at Valparaiso University.

 

Mary Koster

mkoster@bishopnoll.org

Mrs. Koster is a member of the science department.  She got her bachelor's in chemistry and minor in biology from University of Michigan, Flint; her teaching certificate from Trinity Christian College, Palos Heights, Ill.; and her master's in Analytical Chemistry and Biotechnology Certificate from Governor's State University, University Park, Ill.  She teaches Chemistry, Honors Chemistry and ICP (Integrated Chemistry and Physics).

 

Mariann Laird

mlaird@bishopnoll.org

Mrs. Laird is a member of the English department, teaching English 9. She earned her literature degree from Lewis University and her teaching certification from Northern Illinois University. Mrs. Laird is a sponsor of the Writing Club and K-Pop Dance Club.

 

 

 

Brian Lambie

blambie@bishopnoll.org

Mr. Lambie joins Bishop Noll this year as an Algebra 1 teacher. He has a bachelor's degree in math education and a certification in special education. He has attended University of Illinois in Chicago and University Saint Francis. Mr. Lambie will also be coaching the Math Team this year.

 

 

Mark Miller

mmiller@bishopnoll.org

Mr. Miller is a member of the mathematics department currently teaching Algebra I, Algebra II, and AP Calculus AB. He also coaches the Academic Super Bowl team. He earned a bachelor's degree in math education at Purdue University Calumet.
 

Rose Mullaney

rmullaney@bishopnoll.org

Ms. Mullaney, a graduate of Bishop Noll Institute, is a member of the English department. She earned her bachelor of science in education degree for English/language arts from Indiana University. Ms. Mullaney teaches ninth and tenth grade English.
 

Julie Niu

jniu@bishopnoll.org

Mrs. Niu is a member of the world languages department.  She earned her bachelor of arts degree at Tianjin University, China. Mrs. Niu teaches Chinese I, II, III, and IV.
 

Brian Pillar

bpillar@bishopnoll.org

Mr. Pillar teaches Intro to Business, Personal Finance and Accounting I. He has a bachelor's degree in business education, post baccalaureate certficiate in accounting and vocational endorsement. Mr. Pillar attended Valparaiso University, Purdue North Central, Calumet College of St. Joseph, Indiana University Northwest and the University of Southern Indiana. 
 

Jessica Ramos

jramos@bishopnoll.org


Ms. Ramos is a member of the student services department. She earned her bachelor of science degree in apparel merchandising from Indiana University. Ms. Ramos earned her master of science degree in education from Purdue University Calumet. Ms. Ramos is BNI's college counselor and also teaches a career exploration class.
 

Marisa Renwald

mrenwald@bishopnoll.org

Ms. Renwald is a member of the English Department.  She earned her bachelor of arts degree in English writing and history from St. Mary's College, Notre Dame. Ms. Renwald teaches English, journalism and expository writing.
 

 

 

Jose Rosario

jrosario@bishopnoll.org

Mr. Rosario, a 2012 graduate of Bishop Noll, returns to his alma mater this year and will be teaching Theology 10.


 

 

 

Father Kevin M. Scalf

kscalf@bishopnoll.org

The Rev. Kevin M. Scalf, C.PP.S., is the chaplain at Bishop Noll and teaching Dual Level TheologyFather Scalf, a member of the Missionaries of the Precious Blood religious order, also serves as Special Assistant to the President and is a faculty member at Calumet College of St. Joseph. He is a member on the Diocese of Gary Priests Council and the diocesan Pastoral Council. Father Scalf has multiple bachelor's degrees from the College of Mount St. Joseph in Cincinnati, and master's degrees from Xavier University, Mount St. Mary's Seminary in Cincinnati and the Catholic Theological Union in Chicago. Before coming to Noll, he taught at high schools in the Cincinnati area, and has taught at the University of Dayton, St. Joseph's College and Calumet College of St. Joseph.

 

Rosalie Schmidt

rschmidt@bishopnoll.org

Ms. Schmidt is a member of the Science Department, teaching Anatomy and Physics and Environmental Science. A 1970 BNI grad, she has a bachelor's degree in life sciences, a bachelor's in secondary science teaching from Kansas State University, and a master's degree in biology from Fort Hays State University. Ms. Schmidt taught earth science, anatomy and physiology, geography, and psychology at Wabaunsee High School in Alma, Kansas, and 7-12 grade science at Nes-Tre-La-Go school district, and 7-12 grade science at Southern Cloud school district. Ms. Schmidt began teaching at BNI in 2011 and is the sponsor of National Honor Society, the Envirothon Team and Knitting Club.
 

Lydia Skurka

lskurka@bishopnoll.org

Ms. Skurka, a graduate of Bishop Noll Institute, is a member of the theology department. She earned a bachelor of arts degree from Aquinas College and a master of science in education from Purdue University. Ms. Skurka teaches Theology 10 and 11. 
 

Diane Wilson

dwilson@bishopnoll.org

Mrs. Wilson worked many years in private industry in the field of computer technology.  Mrs. Wilson earned her bachelor of arts degree from the University of Illinois Chicago, and her masters degree in business administration from Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles. Mrs. Wilson became certified to teach at Governors State University and currently teaches French. 
 

Colie Zwierz

czwierz@bishopnoll.org

Mrs. Zwierz has been a member of the mathematics department since 2009 and is teaching Algebra 1 and 2, Algebra Enrichment and Finite Math. She earned her bachelors degree in secondary mathematics education from Indiana University Northwest. Mrs. Zwierz is a sponsor for the sophomore class and the RICHER program.